Review: Grasping At Eternity (Kindrily Series #1)

Click to buy

What’s It About?

When Maryah’s family is murdered, she goes to live with her godmother whom she has never met – at least, not that she can remember.  Maryah doesn’t realise that her new adoptive family is actually her spiritual family who can remember every single one of their past lives; as could Maryah until she erased her memory.

Nathaniel is convinced that his family’s attempts to bring back Maryah’s memories are pointless as he tries to discover why she erased in the first place.  After all, she had promised to be with him forever and now Maryah is convinced that she hates him.  And now he has to deal with the reality that his soulmate will never come back, even though his love for her is undying and he knows he will do everything he can to keep her safe.

My Thoughts:

I have to admit I wasn’t too sure how I felt as I started reading this book.  The reason was that it started with a very sudden, unexpected, violent scene – one I think may have worked better as a Preface or told in retrospect throughout the book.  That said, that was the one and only thing I didn’t love and I read the rest of the book in one day.

The storyline sounds a little clichéd but it is anything but. I was constantly thinking and trying to work out what would happen and when the truth would come out and the reactions this would leave to.  There are a lot of characters involved, all are fully-formed and all serve their purpose in strengthening the story which is what I think makes this book stand apart from other immortal love stories.

The story is told from the point of view of Maryah, a normal teenage girl (or so she believes) and Nathaniel, an Eternal who can remember his past lives and the Mary (now Maryah) who is his soul mate. I found this a little disjointing in places but overall felt it was necessary to understand what was happening.  It also meant that the reader has much more insight into the relationship between Nathaniel and Maryah (which wouldn’t be possible with only Maryah’s point of view) making me want to believe and hope for them much more strongly.

Now, I want to read the next book as I need to know what is going to happen next and how their relationship continues (unfortunately it isn’t out yet!).  There is so much left unanswered at the end of this book, enough that it wraps up the story, but more than enough for me to want to spend many more books with these characters.

Overall rating: 4.5/5

[Disclaimer: I received a free digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  All op.]inions are my own

Leave a Reply

