Musing Monday (2nd December 2013) – Reading Widely

Image

Musing Mondays is hosted by Should Be Reading and asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

I am currently reading ‘From Belly Fat to Belly Flat’ by Dr. C. W. Randolph. I have never read a ‘dieting’ book before, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. The book is mainly about how hormonal imbalance can cause health problems, including putting on weight; I will do a proper review once I have finished it.

I am slightly surprised that I picked this book up at the library, as it is so different from my normal choices. For so long I stuck primarily to ‘easy’ reading such as chick lit, but over the past few years I have noticed I have begun to read a little more widely.

It started when I was in University, when I discovered I enjoyed autobiographies. I think this was the first step to reading ‘out of my comfort zone’. After Uni, I got my Kindle which opened up my reading habits as well, as there are so many free ebooks available in every genre (though remember that you still have to spend your time on them, so they aren’t really ‘free’). Over the past year I have found myself making the conscious decision to try other things such as science fiction, which I never would have considered before. It seems that forcing myself to try new things has finally become a habit, and one I am very glad of as I hate to think I would constrain myself against reading an incredible book. Of course, I have stumbled upon some truly terrible books as well, but I figure I can learn something from everything I read, even if it’s simply how not to write.

Leave a Reply

