Review – From Belly Fat to Belly Flat by C. W. Randolph (M.D.)

Image

Title: From Belly Fat to Belly Flat

Author: C. W. Randolph M.D.

Publisher: Health Communications

Published: November 2007

Genre: Non-Fiction Health

Source: Library

My Rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon.com

From Belly Fat to Belly Flat isn’t like many dieting books, as rather than simply focusing on what we eat, Dr. C. W. Randolph discusses how hormonal imbalance can cause weight gain that can’t be shifted regardless of how healthy we eat or how much we exercise.  Randolph both explains why this is, and how to combat it.

I didn’t really look hard at this book before picking it up, and so didn’t notice that it is mainly aimed at those who are 30+, however this didn’t really negatively affect my reading experience.  While I am unsure how much of the book I will put into practice, I found it a very informative and interesting read, and was especially pleased to find easy recipes at the end.

One of the things I liked best about From Belly Fat to Belly Flat is how Randolph explains what different hormones do within the body, therefore making it easy to understand his theory about oestrogen dominance causing health problems, including weight gain.  Not only this, but he clearly outlines which foods and vitamins can be used to solve the problem easily, and tells us why. I found this meant I am much more likely to remember what foods have more oestrogen and progesterone.  And while I do not feel I need to start taking vitamins, I found it fascinating to read about a few key vitamins and the effects they can have on the body.

My main issue with this book is that part of the time Randolph uses studies from the U.K. and part of the time studies from the U.S.A.  To me this implies that he is picking and choosing his information to suit his needs, and therefore makes me wary of trusting the statistics without finding out more elsewhere.  Unfortunately this is a big problem as, without knowing how trustworthy the information is, it taints the rest of the book by causing us to question the whole theory the book is based on.

Overall I found this an interesting read in regards to learning how hormones affect the body and my health in general.  However, I wouldn’t recommend this book without advising that if health or weight are concerns, you read widely and don’t put too much faith in one theory (I would say this for almost any dieting/health books though). I am glad I read it, and I can see myself reading it again in a few years if I feel it may be applicable to me. In the meantime, I am excited to try a few of the recipes provided.

Leave a Reply

