Musing Monday (31st March)

ImageMusing Mondays is a meme hosted by MizB of Should be Reading and asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

 

I love my Kindle an I love solid books. For me the most important thing is the words and my Kindle simply gives me a way of discovering words creating stories I never would have tried without it.  However, I have just had my first ‘problem’ with reading on my Kindle.

I have just finished The Day After Yesterday by Kelly Cozy on my Kindle (review will be posted later this week).  And as I was reading I discovered just how long it was.  When you choose a physical book you already have a rough idea of its length simply from the number of pages.  When you begin a Kindle book there is nothing that physical to grasp how long it is.

Of course, with a digital book you can see the percentage of how far you have read, and the estimated time it will take you to finish the book. But this comes after you start, and by then it’s too late and suddenly you find  you are wading through many more words than you were prepared for.  Admittedly one could check the number of pages it is on Goodreads or Amazon, but personally the length of a book is not something I consciously consider when choosing what to read.  I now wonder if that’s simply because in the past, before digital books, it was a subconscious observation that prepared me.

I doubt this will much change the way I read – I am far too lazy to check the length of each digital book I consider reading – but it is the first discrepancy I have come across with reading a digital book.  I do wonder if it’s also because I have a new Kindle (a Paperwhite) and my previous Kindle (a keyboard) showed the percentage read on a bar across the bottom of the page that slowly filled as you read. While at the start of a book there is still the same problem of not knowing how long it is, that soon disappears. With the Paperwhite it simply tells you the percentage read with no visual representation, making it fairly useless (at least in my opinion).

Have you found any differences like these when reading a digital book as opposed to a physical one?

Leave a Reply

