Musing Mondays (21st April)

Image

Musing Mondays is hosted by MizB at Should be Reading asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

 

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

My Musing:

While away I did a lot of reading yet I only completed three books. The fact that I read almost every day and often for a few hours each day somehow seems to get lost when I think of how few books I read. I realise it’s a lot for some people, but for me it is average – yet I spent all that extra time reading! The second book I read ‘Conducts of Life’ by Ralph Waldo Emerson. This is effectively a book of very long essays of philosophical musings in different areas of life. Personally I only found one section really interesting, so the rest of the book felt like I was wading through it. Even though I was spending a lot of time reading it, I went very slowly through it. On the plus side, I learnt quite a few new words.

My musing seems to have got lost in amongst the explanation, but basically I wanted to point out how strange it is that we associate how many books we read with how much we read – regardless whether the books are long or short.  Have you ever got into the trap of feeling like you haven’t read enough (or read a surprising amount) based on how many books you managed to tick off your TBR pile?

 

3 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (21st April)

  1. Thank you both so much for commenting.

    Jo, I’m the same in liking a mix in my reading; often I have a non-fiction book I’m reading at the same time as a fictional one. I chose the Emerson book because my favourite quote is by him, so I downloaded all the free books of his on Kindle and will likely give all of them a go. While it was heavy reading, some of it was also fascinating.

    Anika, that is an excellent idea. I often find that in December I read shorter books as there is so much else going on and I like to try and make my Goodreads goals (though I don’t let not reaching them bother me).

Leave a Reply

