Teaser Tuesdays (13th May)

So sorry for the complete lack of posts last week. If you follow my main blog, you will know I was really ill so wasn’t able to read, let alone write about reading, so I hope you’ll forgive me. Hopefully I’ll eventually be organised enough that being ill won’t affect this blog much, but for now, please bear with me.

Image

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser:

But it is essential to  distinguish between the standard attainable and the standard attained.  The former depends upon the income of the  families and it is upon income that the classification of the families is based.

~p.p. 124 Poverty and Progress by B. Seebohm Rowntree

As I was looking for a suitable teaser to share with you, I realised just how boring this book is, especially when taken out of context. However, I’m still enjoying it as I honestly love to learn, especially about history and society which this book encompasses.

3 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays (13th May)

  1. Ha, ha. I don’t like reading boring books–if I read 50 pages and am still bored, I quit. Too many good books around to waste time reading one that puts me to sleep.

  2. kzemek, I completely agree with you. I used to always insist upon finishing books whether or not I liked them, but now I am happy to stop if I find them too boring. So far, however, I’ve honestly be fascinated by everything I’ve read in this book.

Leave a Reply

