Musing Mondays (19th May)

Image

Musing Mondays, created by MizB of Should be Reading asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

I am currently reading ‘Poverty and Progress’ by B. Seebohm Rowntree. It’s a thick non-fiction book detailing Rowntree’s findings in the 1930s survey about poverty in York. I heard about the book while watching a documentary, and somehow decided to read it. Honestly I’m still not sure how I became the person who reads these sorts of things for no other reason than it sounded interesting.  But now that I’m reading it, I don’t want to stop. It can be dull in some areas, but I am still finding it interesting.  My only complaint is that it’s a very slow read, causing me to behind on my regular reading and reviewing, but I am determined to keep reading it now that I’ve started it, no matter how long it takes me (though it is a library book and there’s probably a limit on how many times I can renew it, so I should definitely get cracking).

Do you ever read non-fiction books just because?

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (19th May)

  1. I’m interested by a lot of non-fiction. But you’re right that it’s slow. I think the difference is you have to read every single word on the page, and because there’s no dialogue, there’s a lot more words on each page. Reading non-fiction is definitely underrated. Adding to your general knowledge can only be a good thing. Keep enjoying your non-fiction! 🙂

    • Thanks Anika, I think you’re right. We usually have to read non-fiction in a different way to fiction, if we are to understand what we are reading. I just wish I could retain a little more of the information I read, after I have read it.

Leave a comment