Musing Mondays (7th July)

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a meme created by MizB at Should be Reading and asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!
My Musing:

I have always read for pleasure above all else. At school I hated having to analyse the text as it took all the fun out of reading. And I’m fairly sure that most authors don’t agonize over every single word as if they did, nothing would ever get finished.

I still read for pleasure, but now I have this blog it has changed the way I read ever so slightly. I still don’t like analysing, but now I pay more attention to how I respond to what I’m reading. If there’s something that bugs me, or that I really like, I write it down so I won’t forget it when writing the review later.  Admittedly I’m still learning with this whole writing thoughts down in the middle of reading, but I’m getting there.  I think being a writer helps in a sense as I can usually work out an authors intent in certain parts of the book (or in the book as a whole), and therefore can say whether or not I feel they have achieved that or something completely different. Of course, I am only one reader and anything I write is from my interpretation (if it wasn’t then everyone would like exactly the same things and how boring would that be), and, as I said, I don’t like analysing, so it’s a very vague and personal interpretation.

If you have a book blog has it changed the way you read? Do you prefer to analyse everything in a book, or take it as a whole?

 

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (7th July)

  1. Blogging about books has definitely made me more conscious of WHY I like or dislike a particular book. I think it’s also caused me to explore authors and topics that I may not have tried before I began book blogging. But, at the same time, I try not to get too caught up in deep analysis, because that can really take the enjoyment out of a book!

Leave a Reply

