Monday Musings (1st Sept)

musingmondays51Musing Mondays is hosted by MizB of Should be Reading and asks you to muse about one of the following each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

My Musings: 

Over the past few months I have started collecting quotes in a notebook. I know that somewhere I have a notebook with a few quotes in from when I was a teenager, but they also included my thoughts on them. Now I simply write the quote when I find one I am drawn to.

I am currently reading ‘Playing the Game’ by Robert Baden-Powell. For me Scouting is a huge part of my life so it made sense to pick this up.  While I’m not that excited about his extensive writing on his experience of the Boer war (and later the First World War), I have already found a few quotes I will definitely be remembering.  This is probably a main reason why I enjoy reading non-fiction, especially essays and autobiographies, as usually they are full of new information not only about the subject, but about living life. I can definitely see this book becoming one I flick through regularly in regards to both Scouting and general life.

Does anyone else collect quotes?

7 thoughts on “Monday Musings (1st Sept)

  1. Hi Tamara,
    I too like collecting quotations. I’ve got some in a small notebook that I’ve had for many years and some in a file on my computer. It’s definitely more pleasurable to look through the notebook than the computer file!

    My notebook has clippings from magazines and newspapers stuck in as well as handwritten quotations and some bits of my own writing. I think I might format and print my digital quotations and stick them into another notebook…

    What is your favourite quote from ‘Playing the Game” so far?

  2. Marigold, using clippings from magazines and newspapers sounds like a great idea. My favourite quote so far is “If you are feeling down and out, wretched and in pain, just remember that, in the end, clouds roll away always to make room for the sunshine. Twist up the corners of your lips, if they are down, and make them smile.” Do you have a favourite quote from you notebook?

  3. Yes! I’ve been doing this for YEARS–I have a notebook that I started back when I was in high school (over 30 years ago!) with quotes from books, song lyrics, etc. I also more recently have a collection of quotes on Pinterest. I probably save more quotes from fiction than nonfiction. Sometimes a writer says something so perfectly that you just have to write it down . . .

  4. I like that and “Twist up the corners of your lips” is a wonderful phrase to use as shorthand for the whole quotation 🙂

    My favourite varies, but glancing through my book just now I picked out these lines from an ee cummings poem:

    “…whatever we lose(like a you or a me)
    it’s always ourselves we find in the sea”

    It’s very important to me to be near the sea as often as possible.

  5. Marigold, I am a huge fan of e.e. cummings so it’s good to see another who loves his work.

    Jonesjar, I used to be the same but, as I said, now have a notebook to write down anything I want to remember.

    Bookmammal, I also use pinterest for quotes, though not as much as some people, as I only pin quotes I would be happy to write down in my notebook as well.

Leave a Reply

