Musing Mondays (3rd November)

musingmondays51Musing Mondays is hosted by MizB at Should be Reading and asks you to muse about one of the following each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

My Musing:

I have been wanting to read a Jodi Picoult book for quite a while, but for some reason never got around to it now. I started reading Handle With Care over the weekend and even though it’s a fairly hefty book I am almost half way through it already. The book focuses on a child born with osteogenesis imperfecta, a  very severe condition meaning her bones are very brittle and extremely easy to break.  Until reading this book I had only a vague knowledge about this disability, but that is not what the book focuses on.  Instead, it focuses on how one child with this condition can effect everyone – the family, family’s friends, school, etc

I knew to expect an emotional read, and within the first few chapters I wondered if I’d be able to continue as the emotional impact of reading the story was almost too much to bear. However, I’m glad I continued as it has become an addictive read, constantly making me rethink things and things I’ve never thought of.  I’m looking forward to what I will discover in the rest of the book.

Are you a fan of Jodi Picoult? Which of her books would you recommend?

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (3rd November)

  1. I have been reading Jodi Picoult for a while…I think I’ve read them all! I just received Leaving Time…

    It is hard to recommend one over the others, as individual tastes should dictate. My Sister’s Keeper was one I particularly enjoyed. And so was Vanishing Acts.

    Enjoy!

    Here is my
    MUSING MONDAYS POST

  2. I love Jodi Picoult & am excited to be seeing her talk about her new book in a few weeks. My Sister’s Keeper is my favourite book of hers, I’d highly recommend it.

    Molly

    • I think I might love Jodi Picoult books too – this is the first I’ve read but I’m loving it so much I can’t wait to read more. I know My Sister’s Keeper is very popular, and I’ve seen part of the film adaptation of it, so I’m sure it won’t be long before I pick it up.

Leave a Reply

