Musing Mondays (24th Nov)

musingmondays51Musing Mondays is hosted by MizB of Should be Reading and asks you to muse about one of the following each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

I’ve mentioned a few times that I am participating in an A-Z challenge this year, reading a book by an author of every letter of the alphabet.  To be honest, I’m not entirely convinced I’ll finish, but I keep going in the hopes I do.  One thing that’s come from the challenge is reading books I never would have chosen. Right now I’m reading The Golden Spruce by John Vaillant which is basically about the history of logging, with a story about the Haida people, a man named Hadwin, and a golden spruce. It’s a factual book, with lots of myth and hearsay thrown in, not the best book I’ve read, but certainly interesting and beyond anything I would have thought I’d pick up (I literally picked it up as coming across a ‘V’ isn’t the easiest, nor is ‘I’ either it turns out).

Have you ever participated in a challenge, that’s caused you to read the unexpected?

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (24th Nov)

  1. That does sound like an interesting challenge. I just entered a challenge where I am going to read books in 2015 that have been on my TBR list for a year or more. It is good because there are so many books I have been meaning to get to! This challenge sounds like an interesting one though because you would read so many authors you never would have thought of.

  2. I haven’t had a challenge prompt me to read something completely out of left field. I hope it happens one day – it sounds like fun!

    An awesome ‘I’ author is John Irving, if you’ve never read him. I adored The Cider House Rules and have The World According to Garp on my TBR!

Leave a Reply

