Musing Mondays (16th March)

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn of A Daily Rhythm that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

My Musing:

One thing I love about books is they can show us a glimpse into times and places we cannot imagine without them.

When I think about the Second World War, I think about what it was like in Germany, being a soldier, or living in Britain at that time.  But every now and again I find words that make me consider something or somewhere else.

I’ve just started reading Suite FranÇaise by Irène Némirovsky and that’s exactly what it has done – shown me a world I hadn’t even considered. It is set in France, and starts in Paris, going on to the characters leaving Paris. I feel I should have known about the mass exodus of Paris at that time, but at the same time I know there is no obvious reason why I should have known about it. Of course it was important, but schools can only provide so much information (and I was taught a lot less about World War I), and there will always be gaps. I’m now realising that what happened in the rest of Europe is something I know nothing about; it was a gap I wasn’t even aware I was missing.  I know I can never know everything, but at perhaps knowing what I don’t know is at least a place to start.

Through my love of reading I am constantly learning, constantly challenged. New worlds, the past, different ways of thinking, are all available if we just look for them. I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir, but sometimes it’s important to remember why we love to read.

Has a book ever changed your perception of something?

One thought on “Musing Mondays (16th March)

Leave a Reply

