Musing Monday (20th April)

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of A Daily Rythym that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you use your local library? What do you like (or dislike) most about it?

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a brief comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

My Musing:

I don’t really need to be borrowing books as I have a large TBR pile cluttering up my flat, but I just can’t resist the allure of the library and everything it offers.

Anyone who has been reading for long will know I love my local library. Obviously the main reason is it’s a source of free books to read and the diversity available. When I visit my library I don’t usually know what I’m going to pick up – yes, I do use the online service to reserve books, but nothing beats wandering round looking at what’s available. Today I went in on a whim (it’s on my way home from the grocery shops) and came out with Dodger by Terry Pratchett; Blue Remembered Earth by Alastair Reynolds; and Tales From Below Stairs by Margaret Powell – one fantasy, one sci-fi, and one autobiographical which is quite a mix.  Honestly, I don’t use many of the other services available, though this is more due to lack of time and energy than anything else (and no, I can’t list everything available at my local library), but I do rely on my library as a source of information on community events, such as performances I might want to see, etc.

My dream job is to be a librarian, with the limited hope they won’t all be taken over by machines by the time I’m able to work.  Obviously I love books, and, to me, being a librarian is a good way to share this love and pass it on (especially to younger generations).  The thing is, libraries mean a lot more to me than the books I borrow. They have come to be places of safety and refuge for me, somewhere I can go when there’s nowhere else I want to be.

I know everyone’s library is slightly different. I know I’m lucky as I don’t have to pay a membership (though I gladly would if they asked) and I don’t get charged for borrowing books from other libraries in the area. But honestly I believe libraries are essential to every community. Do you agree?

One thought on “Musing Monday (20th April)

Leave a Reply

