Musing Monday (27th April)

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of A Daily Rythym that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you prefer Hardcover, Trade Paperback, or Mass Market Paperback? Why?

My Musing:

I have always loved paperback books. When I was growing up my dad had shelves of hardbacks, so somewhere in my mind I always associated hardback with grown-up classical literature. Of course, now I know that has nothing to do with it, but I still vie towards paperback, partly because it’s cheaper, but also because hardback books are heavier, and as reading is already an exhausting act, I don’t see the point in adding weight-lifting to it.

However, since the creation of e-readers, I started having an interest in digital books. I’m particularly interested in how the technology can create new reading experiences (something that is still very tentative and not that normal yet).  Otherwise I’m happy reading any book in whatever format it comes in.

Generally speaking, if I’m going to buy a book new (which isn’t too often thanks to the library and charity shops), I now try and buy it digitally, simply because I’m trying to cut down on having as much physical stuff. To be honest, it isn’t really working as I keep picking cheap books up at random shops and I literally have piles of them (not to mention the hundreds still on my bookshelf at my parents’) and reading library books instead of them.

So I guess I don’t have a preference really, other than not reading too many hardback books (sometimes it’s the only format the library has), but I don’t actually have anything against them. Am interested to see what others have written about this for their Musing Monday posts this week.

2 thoughts on “Musing Monday (27th April)

  1. I love the way that hardcovers look on my shelves, but I usually only buy them if I can find a really nice used copy. Otherwise I go with trade paperbacks and very rarely, ebooks. I’m also a HUGE customer at my local library!

Leave a Reply

