Musing Monday (July 13)

musingmondays51Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What book (or books) would you take with you on vacation? Why?

I’m going to assume taking my Kindle isn’t an option for this question, as otherwise it’d be far to easy to just load it up with lots of books to choose from. So, imagining I don’t own a Kindle, trying to think of what books I would take on holiday is actually quite difficult. Even as a kid I always packed more books than clothes, and inevitably came home with even more books, so I’ve decided to try and narrow it down to 3 for right now.

My first book would be Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. This book always makes it into the top of my lists as it’s fairly big so lasts a little longer than a small book, and there are many different styles and genres within it so gives lots of variety.

The next book I’d like to take would be Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. This is one of my favourite books but I don’t reread it as often as I’d like as it does take a while to get through, so taking it on holiday would be perfect, you know, if it wasn’t massive. As I have the 7 book set, I’d probably just take the first 2-3 parts, rather than the whole thing (but still have to count it as one as originally that’s how the book was intended).

To be honest, those two alone would probably be more than enough to keep me busy, but I always like to take something light to read as well, for when my mind doesn’t want to think too much. Currently I’m looking forward to reading Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling. Someone sent this book to me in a penpal swap, and as I haven’t watched The Mindy Project I probably wouldn’t have picked it up by myself. But can’t wait to read it and it looks super summery; so if I were going on holiday in the next couple of weeks without a kindle, it would definitely make it into my bag.

Looking forward to seeing what books you have chosen.

One thought on “Musing Monday (July 13)

  1. I agree with you, The Lord of the Rings seemed like a book I would take with me on vacation, mainly because of its length. I would be so preoccupied with reading it that I wouldn’t need to bring other books.

Leave a Reply

