Musing Monday (27th July)

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn of A Daily Rhythm that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT at her blog with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment there.

My Musing:

When I started book blogging I had no idea what I was letting myself in for (not to mention I wasn’t starting it alone).   I think I was never really as committed as I wanted to be. I went months without reviewing anything, and my participation of memes was random; it’s not that I didn’t want to make this into a successful blog, I just didn’t have the understanding of what I was really doing.

Finally I’m starting to see what I really want to do. The past couple of weeks I’ve been posting more regularly and I sincerely plan to keep doing so. I considered letting this blog die, and with it the worry and stress it was causing by knowing I wasn’t keeping it up to date. I’m glad I didn’t as for the first time I’m feeling truly committed to this blog. A part of it is I want to use it to help me achieve my dreams of becoming a freelance editor and proof-reader, but that’s not the main reason.

When it comes down to it, I love books – have always loved books – the way the words dance across your mind, the way a theory or idea can be conveyed without ever having to say it, the way in which words can literally change your life. I think with being ill and struggling to get through each day, along with my focus going all over the place (crafts, cooking, writing, various blogs) I had forgotten that. Books and words are part of who I am and I’m glad to have found the focus and belief in myself once again. Of course, I still enjoy crafts and cooking and writing, but I know that when everything else is stripped away, words will always be there, and they will always be in my life. Realising this has given me hope I thought I’d lost and dedication I wasn’t sure I had, and hopefully the results will be seen in this blog becoming regularly updated and more interactive.

No doubt there are still kinks I need to work through (trying to find a way for this blog to look the way I imagine it being one), and I won’t always be as active as I wish I could be; but I’m certain I’ll pull through, and words are the way I’ll do so.

One thought on “Musing Monday (27th July)

Leave a Reply

