Musing Monday (24th August)

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of A Daily Rythym that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Does your local library ever have book sales? What are the prices like? Tell us about any great finds you have found there!

My Musing (and answer)

I have stacks of books both physical and digital, ready for me to read; yet I don’t feel like picking any of them up next. So today I went to the library to find something I’d be excited about

Weird little segue into today’s questions – yes, my local library often have sales of books 30p each or 4 for a £1; though recently it has only been children’s books and other than the odd book picked up for a friend’s toddler I haven’t bought anything from them in quite a long time.

And back into what I was saying. So I wanted to find something that was light and fun, without being boring. I have been reading a lot of war intense books lately, both fiction and non-fiction and think I need a break. I also didn’t want a love story, which is when I discovered that pretty much every book has a love story, and it’s usually the focus. Every book I picked up, the blurb described a boy and a girl who have to learn to deal with each other. And this was in every genre.

I looked at Fantasy and nearly picked up a discworld book by Terry Pratchett but then decided if I was going to read them I should start at the beginning and they didn’t have the first one (it made sense in my head at the time), and most other Fantasy books were a lot thicker than I was looking for (not that I have a thing against big books, just that I’m trying to at least attempt to keep up with my Goodreads goal of 50 books this year). I’ve never been into Horror or Thrillers so I gave them a pass as I wasn’t looking to widen my scope, just find something I would love reading. I looked for the Science Fiction section which said it was in the same place but was filled with Horror so I gave up looking for that. I looked at YP Fiction, but again everything was about romance.

Just as I’d given up hope of finding anything that would appeal to me I came across the 15+ section which I didn’t even know existed and settled on Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly which (according to the blurb) is about a girl who is sent to France and discovers a diary written by another girl during the French Revolution (I only now realised this means I’ve probably picked up another war book but hopefully it won’t all be doom and gloom). Once I’d picked it up it was as if a weight was lifted and suddenly almost every book looked interesting. I allowed myself to get one other book (Manuscript Found in Accra by Paulo Coelho), as honestly I don’t need to be going to the library for something to read.

While it took a while for me to ‘wander’ (in my mobility scooter) and find anything that sparked my interest, the trip to the library was definitely worth it as I’m starting to feel excited about reading again which is just what I needed.

Any suggestions on happyish/fun books that don’t have too much romance filling their pages?

2 thoughts on “Musing Monday (24th August)

  1. I wish our library had sales like this, but they don’t. I do like the dollar basket at a second hand bookstore near where I work. I don’t always find something, but I just like looking 🙂

    • My local Co-op supermarket now has a basket of books for 30p (donation to charity) and even though it’s often the same books, I always have a good look through so I don’t miss anything. And charity shops are a huge favourite of mine for picking up cheap second hand books.

Leave a Reply

