Musing Monday (31st Aug)

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of The Daily Rythym that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What is your favorite book? (or, one of your favorites!)

Today’s question is about favourite books. Normally I would say Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell but know I’ve mentioned it quite a lot recently so am fairly certain you all know that’s one of my favourite books.

My other favourite book has to be Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. I have to admit I was hesitant to read it as I hated The Hobbit, but after the first LotR film came out I mentioned that to my mum and she advised me to read LotR anyway (she also hated The Hobbit and has dyslexia so finds reading quite difficult at times), I’m so glad I did (obviously as otherwise it wouldn’t not be my favourite book). While it is considered a classic, and the writing style can sometimes be awkward, it is one of the most beautifully written books I’ve read. So beautiful that I instantly knew I had to read more of Tolkien’s books.

The two that stand out most to me (other than LotR of course) are Tales from the Perilous Realm which is a collection of 4 short stories – The Adventures of Tom Bombadil being one of them. Tom Bombadil is possibly my favourite character from LotR and this entire story is told in his lyrical speech. The second is Letters from Father Christmas which is a collection of letters he sent to his sons each year from Father Christmas. It was put together by one of his sons, complete with the original drawings and it has rated itself among my top Christmas books.

I also own The History of The Lord of the Rings but have to admit I’m a little intimidated after a good stab at trying to read The Silmarillion and not getting far. I am sure I will give both of these a try at some point, but not this year as I already have a full quota of ‘heavy’ books on my tbr list.

Have you read any other books by J.R.R. Tolkien? If so, what did you think of them?

2 thoughts on “Musing Monday (31st Aug)

  1. So now the question is, which of the three Lord of the Rings books is your favorite? If that is even a question that is possible to answer. 🙂 I have this weird love affair with The Two Towers, even though I know a lot of folks find that one boring. But I find it very enjoyable and almost comforting to read about Frodo and Sam slowing climbing up those horrible steep stairs. I haven’t re-read them in a while though, it might be time soon.

    My Musing Monday post is here if you’re interested: http://www.bookpunks.com/so-it-begins-signal-to-noise-by-silvia-moreno-garcia/

Leave a Reply

